Regulation explainerUAE · Saudi Arabia · GCC

Probiotic vs Postbiotic Claims in the UAE and GCC: Rules, Cost and Consumer Trust (2026)

Probiotic vs postbiotic claims rest on different evidence: a live count validated to the end of shelf life for probiotics, and a defined inactivated-cell preparation for postbiotics.[13] Gulf technical regulations name probiotics in food supplements and milk products,[5][6] but no GCC definition of “postbiotic” or route for postbiotic claims was identified as of 15 October 2026, and no GCC cost or postbiotic consumer data were found.
VMDr Vikram Mehta
PhD, FRSC · Head of Regulatory Affairs & Nutrition Science, Food Research Lab
✓ Technically reviewed by the Formulation & Regulatory Panel · Last reviewed: 15 October 2026
Posted
21 October 2026

Last checked
21 October 2026

Reading time
11 min

Sources
13
At a glance
  • GSO 2571:2021 names probiotics within food supplements, and GSO 2512:2016 covers milk products with probiotics.
  • No GCC definition of “postbiotic”, rule on “heat-killed” wording or postbiotic claims route was identified.
  • In the EU, “contains probiotics” is treated as a health claim, and every probiotic health-claim application has been rejected.
  • GCC food labels must be in Arabic; Dubai’s “English and/or Arabic” rule applies to health supplements only.
  • No GCC cost or postbiotic consumer data were found, so compare suppliers on cost per validated serving.
Key numbers
GSO 2571 (food supplements) approved
1 July 2021
GSO 2512 (milk products with probiotics) approved
12 May 2016
GSO 2333 (health and nutrition claims) approved
19 October 2022
Typical probiotic overfill
1.5–4×
UAE adults with no probiotic knowledge (n = 392)
22.2%
EFSA viable-cell limit, pasteurised A. muciniphila
<10 CFU/g

Introduction

Choosing between live probiotics and inactivated cultures for ambient functional foods in the UAE and GCC is not only a stability decision. It also decides what the label can say, what the product costs per serving and how shoppers read it. This article compares probiotic vs postbiotic claims: the regulatory anchors each one has, the cost drivers to quote, the consumer data that exist and a decision route by product format. Stability evidence and formulation are covered in Part 1: Probiotics vs Postbiotics at Gulf Ambient Temperatures.

Regulatory sources were checked to 15 October 2026 and the key documents re-checked on 21 October 2026. Where this article says a rule was not identified, it means none was found in the GSO, SFDA, MoIAT, MOHAP, Dubai Municipality and ADAFSA sources reviewed, not that none can exist.

Claims Framework: What You Can Say About Each in the UAE and GCC

Probiotic: terminology, strain declaration, CFU labelling and health-claim rules

GSO 2571:2021, a Gulf Technical Regulation for food supplements approved on 1 July 2021, lists probiotics among the ingredients a food supplement may contain.[6] SFDA’s products classification guidance (version 8.0, November 2024) treats probiotics as food-supplement ingredients, but classifies a product containing them as a health product when it is intended to treat, prevent or diagnose a disease.[11]

Dubai Municipality’s Technical Guidelines for Health Supplements (V2.0, May 2024) list pre- and probiotics as a health-supplement category. The same guideline places conventional food outside its scope and lists probiotics for children under two among products not considered health supplements.[2] Its rules therefore apply to supplements, not to probiotic foods; FRL’s guide to UAE supplement label claims and overage covers that route.

For foods, the GCC has a technical regulation specific to milk products with probiotics, GSO 2512:2016.[5] Its detailed requirements are in the paid full text, which was not reviewed for this article, so check it before setting count wording on a dairy label. No strain-declaration or CFU rule for other foods was identified. Declaring the strain and a live count validated to the end of shelf life is FRL practice, not a published GCC rule.

Postbiotic: terminology, “heat-killed” labelling and novel food questions

No published guidance in the sources reviewed defines “postbiotic” or regulates “heat-killed” wording in the GCC, and SFDA’s classification guidance uses neither term.[11] There is no published route for postbiotic health claims. Two questions stay open for each product.

  • Naming. The ISAPP definition requires inactivated cells or cell components, with or without metabolites.[13] Label wording should describe the preparation, such as the strain and how it was inactivated, without implying live cells.
  • Novelty. SFDA’s guidance points ingredients that could be regarded as novel foods to its technical regulation SFDA.FD 5013, General Requirements for Novel Foods.[11] Whether a given postbiotic falls under it has to be confirmed with SFDA.

The EU comparator is EFSA’s 2021 opinion on pasteurised Akkermansia muciniphila, assessed as a novel food and found safe on condition that viable cells stay below 10 CFU/g, the limit of detection.[3]

UAE/GCC vs EU: where the frameworks differ

The EU gives the clearest published comparator. In December 2024 the European Ombudsman found it reasonable for the European Commission to treat statements such as “contains probiotics” as health claims, and noted that the Commission has so far rejected all applications to authorise health claims concerning probiotics.[4] In the GCC, GSO 2333:2022 (Edition 2, approved 19 October 2022) sets requirements for health and nutrition claims on foods. Its full text is sold through the GSO store, and its public scope does not mention probiotics.[7] Whether a GCC authority would treat “contains probiotics” as a health claim, as the Commission does, is not published. For the Saudi functional-food route in general, see how functional food is regulated in Saudi Arabia.

Table 1. FRL Claims Map: what to confirm for each ingredient before launch in the UAE and GCC

Ingredient Regulatory anchor Label wording to confirm Claim route FRL pre-launch check Sources
Probiotic GSO 2571:2021 (supplements); GSO 2512:2016 (milk products); SFDA classification guidance Strain name and a live count validated to end of shelf life (FRL practice); Arabic label GSO 2333:2022 health and nutrition claims; substantiate each claim Confirm food, supplement or health-product category with the regulator [5][6][7][10][11]
Postbiotic None published in the GCC; describe by preparation (FRL practice). EU reference case: EFSA opinion on pasteurised A. muciniphila Wording that does not imply live cells; confirm with SFDA, MoIAT or the emirate authority before artwork No published GCC route; substantiate against a defined marker and dose Confirm classification, novel-food status and label wording before artwork [3][11][13]

Takeaway: a probiotic claim starts from a named framework; a postbiotic claim starts from a defined marker, so decide the marker before the label.

Know what the label can say before you pick the ingredient.

For postbiotics, most of Table 1 is unpublished in the GCC, so the rule you need may not exist yet for your market. FRL can map each intended claim to the sources that do exist before formulation starts.

Request a claims mapping check

Cost: Ingredient, Testing and Cold Chain

No price or cost figures were found in the sources reviewed, so this section sets out cost drivers and what to ask suppliers to quote. The comparison unit FRL uses is cost per validated serving: ingredient cost divided by the servings that still meet the declared specification at the end of shelf life. Manufacturers usually overfill probiotic products by 1.5 to 4 times the live count expected at the end of shelf life;[13] no postbiotic ingredient cost figure was found.

Cost drivers for each route

For probiotics, the drivers are overage, plate-count enumeration at each time point and, if ambient viability fails, a cold chain (Part 1). For postbiotics, they are a validated marker or bioassay and a controlled inactivation step. No source reviewed quantifies any of these.

Table 2. Cost drivers and supplier quotation points

Cost driver Probiotic Postbiotic Ask the supplier to quote
Ingredient Per CFU at end of shelf life, with overage.[13] Per defined dose of a named marker; not reported. Price per validated serving
Testing Plate count at each time point. Marker or bioassay validation. Method and validation data
Overage dosing 1.5–4× reported.[13] Not reported. Overage in the specification
Cold chain Needed if ambient viability fails (Part 1). Not reported. Storage condition supported by data

Takeaway: the postbiotic cost cells are “not reported”, so request quotes rather than assume.

Consumer Perception: Probiotic Recognition vs Postbiotic Education

No survey of consumer perception of postbiotics in the UAE or GCC was identified. In a UAE survey of 392 adults, 22.2% reported no knowledge of probiotics and 4.8% high knowledge, and 41.1% correctly identified live microorganisms as a component of probiotics.[1] On safety, 29.3% strongly agreed that probiotics are safe and 29.3% were neutral.[1] The sample skewed young (68.4% aged 18–24), female (85.2%) and educated (61.5% held a bachelor’s degree), so it does not represent all UAE shoppers.[1]

The nearest postbiotic data come from Thailand. In a study of 400 consumers and functional postbiotic beverages, a trust barrier lowered attitude (β = −0.188) and claim skepticism lowered purchase intention (β = −0.133), while perceived compatibility had the strongest positive effect on attitude (β = 0.481).[9] Whether GCC shoppers see an inactivated culture as compatible with clean-label functional foods is unmeasured.

FRL Comparison Matrix

Table 3 sets the two routes side by side; viability is summarised from Part 1.

Table 3. FRL comparison matrix

Dimension Probiotic Postbiotic
Viability (Part 1) Falls with temperature and moisture; no food storage data above 37 °C. Marker-dependent; no storage data at a stated temperature of 25 °C or above.
Claims Named in GSO 2571 (supplements) and GSO 2512 (milk products);[5][6] no strain or CFU rule identified for other foods. No GCC definition or claims route identified.
Cost Overfill of 1.5–4× reported.[13] Not reported.
Formulation impact Process losses (Part 1). Lower syneresis in yoghurt (Part 1).
Testing Plate count through shelf life. Marker plus residual viability.

Takeaway: the probiotic column is evidence-rich but condition-limited; the postbiotic column is mostly “not reported”.

Label language and halal checks

For prepackaged food, GSO 9 requires labelling in Arabic; where another language is used, it must sit alongside the Arabic and carry identical information.[10] Dubai Municipality’s “clear English and/or Arabic” wording comes from its health-supplement guideline and applies to supplements, not to conventional foods.[2] No probiotic- or postbiotic-specific halal guidance was found in the sources reviewed. For health supplements, Dubai Municipality may request a halal certificate specifying the source of animal ingredients,[2] so ask culture suppliers to document growth media, cryoprotectants and carriers.

Hybrid Strategies: When to Use Both

Combination approaches and the claims they allow

Sionek and Gantner review functional foods that pair live probiotics with paraprobiotics or postbiotics.[12] One example is an open-label trial in 200 non-diabetic participants. After 12 weeks of a daily dairy yoghurt containing live Lactobacillus paracasei and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis plus heat-treated Lactobacillus plantarum, natural killer (NK) cell activity, interleukin-12 and IgG1 had risen from baseline, and NK activity, interferon-γ and IgG1 rose more than in the milk control group.[8] The trial tested the whole product, so it does not show what the heat-treated strain added on its own.

Vinderola et al. note that ambient yoghurt, heat-treated after fermentation to inactivate the starter cultures, may fit the postbiotic definition once health benefits are shown in efficacy trials, and that it is more correctly named a “yoghurt-based product for ambient distribution”.[13] That naming point matters for the label as much as the claim.

A hybrid splits the label position: the live portion needs a validated count (Part 1) and the inactivated portion a defined marker. No published GCC guidance on hybrid labelling was identified, so plan health-claim substantiation for each portion separately.

Choosing Based on Product Format, Distribution and Market Position

Format and distribution set the first branch (Figure 1). Chilled distribution removes the temperature exposure studied in Part 1. Dry ambient bars, snacks and powders have strain- and moisture-specific evidence up to 37 °C and none above, so a spore-former at low water activity is a candidate only after testing at the hottest storage point. Heat-treated ambient products suit inactivated cells,[13] although the marker and the GCC claims route remain undefined. The claim you want to make then sets the route; functional beverages and functional foods follow different rules, so fix the format first.

Takeaway from Figure 1: no branch ends in a postbiotic claims route that GCC authorities have published.

Probiotic or postbiotic for your format?

Figure 1 reduces to a few questions about format, distribution and claim position. FRL can run that decision for your product.

Request a format decision review

Formulator’s note

“Choose the claim you can substantiate, then the ingredient. For a dry ambient bar, a live culture needs a count validated at the hottest storage point, and in Part 1’s milk-powder data a small rise in water activity cost more viability at 37 °C than the step up in temperature did. A postbiotic needs a named marker, and consumer perception of postbiotics in the GCC is unmeasured. Ask suppliers to quote against the end-of-shelf-life specification, not price per kilogram.”

— Dr Vikram Mehta, PhD, FRSC, Head of Regulatory Affairs & Nutrition Science, Food Research Lab

Decision tree from product format and distribution to claims strategy and route: chilled dairy to probiotic or hybrid, dry ambient to spore-former probiotic or postbiotic, heat-treated ambient to postbiotic
Figure 1. Decision tree: format, distribution, claims strategy and route. Evidence basis: Part 1 storage data; Vinderola et al. (2022) [13].

Conclusion

For UAE and GCC food businesses, choosing between probiotics and postbiotics means balancing what can be claimed, what can be validated through shelf life and what each validated serving costs. Probiotics have named regulatory anchors but no general food CFU rule; postbiotics have no published GCC definition or claims route. Validate ingredient performance through shelf life, and confirm classification and label wording with the regulator before artwork. Food Research Lab supports this through food product development services, from formulation feasibility and pilot manufacturing to regulatory evaluation and shelf-life stability testing.

For Brands & Formulators: Planning a Probiotic or Postbiotic Claim for the UAE and GCC

If you are launching a probiotic, postbiotic or hybrid functional food into the UAE or wider GCC, FRL can map your intended claims to the published rules before formulation, then build the evidence the label needs.

  • Claims mapping: classification (food, supplement or health product), the applicable GSO regulations and label wording, checked before artwork.
  • Probiotic products: viable counts validated to the end of shelf life in the final pack through a shelf-life study that includes your hottest storage point.
  • Postbiotic products: a named marker or bioassay defined before the claim, with residual viability checks.
  • Hybrids: separate substantiation plans for the live and inactivated portions.

Request a claims mapping check, or see FRL’s nutraceutical product development support if your product is a supplement format.

What to do now
  • ✓Decide the claim first, then choose the live or inactivated ingredient that can substantiate it.
  • ✓Confirm classification (food, food supplement or health product) with SFDA, MoIAT or the emirate authority before artwork.
  • ✓For dairy, check GSO 2512:2016 before setting strain or count wording.
  • ✓For postbiotics, name the marker and confirm novel-food status before the claim.
  • ✓Get quotes per validated serving, or ask FRL to map your claims.
Your next step
Map your probiotic or postbiotic claim for the UAE and GCC
1Share your ingredient, format, target markets and the claims you want to make.
2FRL maps each claim to the published GSO, SFDA and emirate rules and flags the gaps.
3Get a substantiation and shelf-life plan for the label you can defend.
Questions brands ask
Can a postbiotic product carry the same claims as a probiotic product in the UAE?

Not on current published rules. No GCC definition of “postbiotic” or claims route for postbiotics was identified, while probiotics are named in GSO 2571:2021 and GSO 2512:2016.[5][6] Any health claim must still meet GSO 2333:2022 and be substantiated.[7] In the EU, even “contains probiotics” is treated as a health claim.[4]

How should live probiotic content be declared on an ambient label?

No GCC rule on strain or CFU declaration for non-dairy foods was identified; for dairy, check GSO 2512:2016.[5] The label must be in Arabic, with any other language alongside it.[10] Confirm strain and viable-count wording with the authority, and validate the declared count to the end of shelf life under the intended storage conditions.

Is a postbiotic cheaper than a live probiotic for non-refrigerated distribution?

The evidence does not show that. No postbiotic cost figure was found. Compare cost per validated serving, including ingredient, processing, stability testing and overage. Probiotic overfill of 1.5–4 times is reported,[13] but that alone does not establish a postbiotic cost advantage.

When does a hybrid approach make sense?

When a product needs a live-culture position and an inactivated component in the same pack. In one 12-week open-label trial, a yoghurt with live L. paracasei and B. lactis plus heat-treated L. plantarum increased NK cell activity,[8] but that does not show every combination adds benefit, and each portion’s claim needs its own substantiation.

References
  1. Alqaydi, T. K., Bedir, A. S., Abu-Elsaoud, A. M., El-Tarabily, K. A., & Al Raish, S. M. (2024). An assessment of the knowledge, attitude, and practice of probiotics and prebiotics among the population of the United Arab Emirates. Foods, 13(14), Article 2219. https://doi.org/10.3390/foods13142219
  2. Dubai Municipality, Health & Safety Department. (2024). Technical guidelines for health supplements (DM-HSD-GU29-TGHS2, Version 2.0, 4 May 2024). https://dmpmedia.dm.gov.ae/uploads/2024/07/DM-HSD-GU29-TGHS2_Technical-Guidelines-for-Health-Supplements_V2.pdf
  3. EFSA Panel on Nutrition, Novel Foods and Food Allergens. (2021). Safety of pasteurised Akkermansia muciniphila as a novel food pursuant to Regulation (EU) 2015/2283. EFSA Journal, 19(9), Article 6780. https://doi.org/10.2903/j.efsa.2021.6780
  4. European Ombudsman. (2024, December 20). Decision on how the European Commission deals with the labelling of foodstuff that contain probiotics as ‘health claims’ (Case 2273/2023/MIK). https://www.ombudsman.europa.eu/decision/197581
  5. GCC Standardization Organization. (2016). Milk products with probiotics (GSO 2512:2016, Gulf Technical Regulation). Standards Store. https://www.gso.org.sa/store/standards/GSO:727956?lang=en
  6. GCC Standardization Organization. (2021). Food supplement (GSO 2571:2021, Gulf Technical Regulation). Standards Store. https://www.gso.org.sa/store/standards/GSO:781286/GSO%202571:2021?lang=en
  7. GCC Standardization Organization. (2022). Requirements for health and nutrition claims on food products (GSO 2333:2022, Gulf Technical Regulation). Standards Store. https://www.gso.org.sa/store/standards/GSO%3A810816/?lang=en
  8. Lee, A., Lee, Y. J., Yoo, H. J., Kim, M., Chang, Y., Lee, D. S., & Lee, J. H. (2017). Consumption of dairy yogurt containing Lactobacillus paracasei ssp. paracasei, Bifidobacterium animalis ssp. lactis and heat-treated Lactobacillus plantarum improves immune function including natural killer cell activity. Nutrients, 9(6), Article 558. https://doi.org/10.3390/nu9060558
  9. Piyapinyo, C., Assarut, N., & Borompichaichartkul, C. (2025). Innovation adoption and resistance of functional postbiotics: Consumer intentions for sleep and mental wellbeing. Emerging Science Journal, 9(5), 2595–2618. https://doi.org/10.28991/ESJ-2025-09-05-018
  10. Saudi Food and Drug Authority. (n.d.). Is it allowed to write the food product label in English (only)? [FAQ citing SFDA.FD/GSO 9, Labeling of prepackaged food stuffs]. https://www.sfda.gov.sa/en/faq/it-allowed-write-food-product-label-english-only
  11. Saudi Food and Drug Authority. (2024). Saudi FDA products classification guidance (Version 8.0, 20 November 2024). https://www.sfda.gov.sa/sites/default/files/2024-11/classification%20guidance%208.0%20.pdf.pdf
  12. Sionek, B., & Gantner, M. (2025). Probiotics and paraprobiotics: New proposal for functional food. Applied Sciences, 15(1), Article 366. https://doi.org/10.3390/app15010366
  13. Vinderola, G., Sanders, M. E., & Salminen, S. (2022). The concept of postbiotics. Foods, 11(8), Article 1077. https://doi.org/10.3390/foods11081077