As food manufacturers move away from fluorinated grease barriers, reliable oil resistance in paper packaging remains a technical challenge. A material that performs well in an ambient laboratory test may behave differently against hot, fatty food. This review examines 2022–2026 research on fat migration in PFAS-free paper packaging: how fat moves through paper, how it is measured, how fluorine-free barriers perform, and what this means for food product development and pack design. For the regulatory side of the switch, read Part 1: PFAS-free paper packaging rules in the GCC.
“Oil migration” in food packaging has two meanings. This article uses it for strike-through: fat wicking into and through the paper. The second meaning, substances moving from the packaging into the food, is the subject of migration testing and, for PFAS, of Part 1. Liquid penetration into porous paper is commonly modelled with the Lucas–Washburn equation, in which penetration slows as viscosity rises.[1] Warmer, thinner fat should therefore move faster, and longer holds give it more time. That is an inference from the model, not a measured hot-food result.
GCC food-service formats combine these variables: free oil on fried items and shawarma, steam and oil in biryani, hot juices from grilled meats, and long delivery holds. Published tests cover only parts of this: dyed canola oil at 60 °C for 4 h on recycled copy paper,[2] and an edible oil of unstated type at 95 ± 5 °C for 30 min on moulded-pulp meal boxes.[3] No reviewed study followed a real GCC dish through a PFAS-free pack, so conclusions for these formats are inferences from laboratory data.
Fluorine-free coatings now reach high kit ratings in laboratory tests. Polyvinyl alcohol blended with bamboo-derived cellulose nanofibres (PVA/CNF) on a 110 g/m² base paper raised the kit rating from 0 (uncoated) to 9 at 2.0 g/m² and 12 at 4.0 g/m² (TAPPI T559).[4] TEMPO-oxidised cellulose nanofibril (TOCN) coatings of about 10 g/m² on recycled copy paper averaged kit 11.7 of 12, and 2–3 g/m² of TOCN reduced dyed canola-oil penetration (60 °C, 4 h) on uncreased sheets to essentially zero. Papers coated with as-received cellulose nanocrystals (CNC) reached a highest average of only about kit 1.[2] For comparison, a 2024 review lists perfluoropolyether-coated paper at kit 10–11 and other fluorinated coatings at kit 3–9.[5]
Highly deacetylated chitosan (>95% degree of deacetylation (DD), 4% w/v solution, about 3.7 g/m² coating load) sprayed on moulded-pulp meal boxes reached kit 12/12 and held edible oil at 95 ± 5 °C for 30 min without leakage in three replicates. The 80–95% DD grade let hot oil infiltrate, and uncoated boxes leaked hot oil in about five minutes.[3] A 2025 review reports microcrystalline wax at 10 g/m² on cationic-starch-precoated paper at kit 12/12; the wax is petroleum-derived, so it is fluorine-free but not biobased. The same review notes the water sensitivity of alginate and cationic starch coatings.[6] These figures come from peer-reviewed studies. Commercial dispersion or cellulose coatings offered by converters remain supplier claims until they are tested on your pack, a point that also applies when reformulating for compostable packaging.
Reported weak points fall into three groups.
Hot-oil tests often leave the oil type unstated,[3] so a pass temperature cannot be generalised across fats. Kit ratings therefore only partly predict how a pack performs in service.
| Barrier and paper | Coat weight | Fat challenge and conditions | Result | Replicates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PVA/CNF on 110 g/m² base paper | 2.0 / 4.0 g/m² | Kit (TAPPI T559) | Kit 9 / 12 (uncoated 0) | n/s | [4] |
| TOCN on recycled copy paper | ~10 g/m² (kit); 2–3 g/m² (penetration) | Kit; dyed canola oil, 400 g load, 60 °C, 4 h | Kit 11.7/12; penetration ≈0 uncreased; <5% stain creased at high coat weights | Up to 10 specimens per run | [2] |
| As-received CNC on recycled copy paper | Various, above 12 g/m² | Same as above | Kit ≈1; penetration above zero even above 10 g/m²; >20% stain creased | Up to 10 specimens per run | [2] |
| Moulded-pulp meal box: chitosan >95% DD vs uncoated | ~3.7 g/m² vs none | Kit; edible oil (type n/s), 95 ± 5 °C, 30 min | Chitosan: kit 12/12, no leak in 30 min. Uncoated: kit 0, leaked in ~5 min | 3 (hot-oil test) | [3] |
Takeaway: every high kit rating comes from a flat or uncreased sample; the only heated tests used 60 °C and 95 °C, and creasing raised penetration.
Test fat migration on your product and pack
A supplier’s kit rating describes a flat sheet at room temperature. FRL can plan hot-oil and hold-time tests around your recipe, filling temperature and finished pack.
Grease resistance in paper is measured by repellency, penetration and permeability methods, and each answers a different question. The kit test (TAPPI T559) rates surface repellency with 12 numbered solutions of castor oil, toluene and n-heptane.[2] ISO 16532-2:2007 is the ISO surface-repellency test and is not intended to measure grease permeability.[8] ISO 16532-1:2008 covers permeability, timing how long palm kernel oil takes to penetrate creased or uncreased paper and board.[9] The Cobb test measures water absorption, not fat: PVA/CNF at 4.0 g/m² reached kit 12 while its Cobb value (21.80 g/m²) was higher than the base paper’s 17.75 g/m².[4] A sound programme pairs a repellency method with a penetration or permeability method before any oil- and grease-resistance (OGR) claim is made.
A realistic protocol fixes the oil type, temperature, contact time, creases and seams, and coat weight. Published conditions range from 60 °C for 4 h[2] to 95 ± 5 °C for 30 min under GB/T 36787-2018.[3] A kit rating measured without heat says nothing direct about hot service. For substance migration, simulant choice also matters: PFAS migration into 50% ethanol was significantly higher than into real food, and fluorotelomer alcohols did not migrate into 20% ethanol at all.[10] Align every test with the serving temperature and hold time.
| Method | What it measures | Conditions | Limitation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit test (TAPPI T559) | Surface repellency to 12 numbered solutions | Rating 0–12; no heated hold | Ordinal; surface only | [2] |
| Surface repellency (ISO 16532-2:2007) | Surface repellency | Paper and board | Not a permeability test | [8] |
| Grease permeability (ISO 16532-1:2008) | Time for palm kernel oil to penetrate | Creased or uncreased paper and board | Test fat is not real food fat | [9] |
| Grease penetration (TAPPI T 507-based) | Dyed-oil stain area on blotter | Canola oil, 400 g load, 60 °C, 4 h | One oil; flat sheets | [2] |
| Hot water/oil resistance (GB/T 36787-2018) | Leakage or deformation within test time | 95 ± 5 °C, 30 min | Oil type not stated in the study | [3] |
| Cobb test | Water absorption | Water contact | Does not measure fat | [4] |
Takeaway: only the last two heated methods approach service conditions, and neither uses a real food.
Table 3 maps the tested barriers to the nearest GCC food format so formulation and packaging choices can be reviewed together. It is a literature-based screening judgement, not FRL laboratory data.
| Closest food format | Fat challenge | Temperature | Exact paper and barrier tested | Indicated risk | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grilled meat box | Edible oil, type not stated | 95 ± 5 °C, 30 min | Moulded-pulp box; chitosan >95% DD vs 80–95% DD | Lower for >95% DD; infiltration at 80–95% DD | [3] |
| Warm fried snack or shawarma wrap | Dyed canola oil | 60 °C, 4 h | Recycled copy paper; TOCN vs as-received CNC | TOCN lower (creased <5% stain at high coat weights); CNC higher (creased >20%) | [2] |
| Biryani or rice dishes | Steam, oil, long hold | Not tested | No direct test found | Unknown: test the finished pack | None |
Takeaway: no GCC format has a direct PFAS-free test on a real dish; the closest evidence is a proxy oil on a flat or moulded sample.
What the evidence suggests formulators can change (inference, not tested on PFAS-free packs):
Treat these as hypotheses for pilot trials in food product development, not validated fixes. Container softening from oil and moisture is covered in our review of biodegradable packaging shelf life.
Worked example (proposed test plan): a paper fried-rice box
Brief: A paper-based fried-rice box carries a PFAS-free declaration, and the concern is oil appearing at the base seam after a long delivery hold. The declaration addresses PFAS content, not grease holdout, so it does not show how the box performs with hot oil over time.
Approach: Record the dish’s oil load, filling temperature and delivery hold time. Identify the exact paper grade and any barrier layer, since a PFAS-free board may be uncoated, dispersion-coated or laminated. Test the finished, folded box at filling temperature, and assess fat moving through the board (strike-through) separately from substance transfer into the food.
- Specification: oil load, filling temperature and hold time, so test conditions match real use.
- Surface repellency: the kit test (TAPPI T559; ISO 16532-2) shows surface repellency only, not whether oil passes through the board.
- Permeability: ISO 16532-1 on creased as well as uncreased samples, since creasing can damage the barrier layer.
- Hot-oil hold test: fill the folded box, hold it at filling temperature for the delivery time, and check the base seam and corner folds for stain or strike-through. Published hot-oil methods such as GB/T 36787-2018 (95 ± 5 °C, 30 min) can serve as a reference.
- Reformulate and retest: if oil breaks through, reduce free surface oil within food-safety limits and repeat the same test.
What it delivers: a test plan matched to real use, with a defined route from a failed test to a reformulation step. This is a proposed framework, not a report of completed FRL testing; suitability is decided only after the results are reviewed.
Request a fat migration and compatibility assessment
FRL can scope tests on your recipe, filling temperature and finished pack before launch.
No oil has been adopted as a standard for oil contact-angle measurement, and reported values vary by about 20° between oils.[5] Studies use different units, coat weights and conditions, and biopolymers cost about USD 4,000–15,000 per tonne against about USD 1,500 for synthetic polymers.[6] Oil types are often unstated,[3] and replicate numbers vary between studies. Creasing remains a challenge for nanocellulose coatings.[2] No reviewed study compared fluorinated and PFAS-free coatings in the same hot-oil test. Watch for head-to-head trials and standardised hot-oil methods.
Formulator’s note: report the whole test, not the rating
Quote the exact paper, barrier, coat weight, oil, temperature and hold time with every result. A kit 12 at room temperature is not a hot-oil pass. Test your own fat, at your filling temperature, on the finished, folded pack.
Research on fat migration in PFAS-free paper packaging shows real progress: several fluorine-free coatings reach kit 11–12 in the laboratory, and one chitosan coating held 95 °C oil for 30 minutes on a moulded-pulp box. High kit ratings still do not guarantee resistance to hot, oily food in a folded, creased pack held through a delivery run. Testing the finished pack with your own food before launch finds failures early and supports better product decisions. For the regulatory requirements, read Part 1: PFAS-free paper packaging rules in the GCC.
If you are moving a hot, oily product into PFAS-free paper packaging for the UAE or wider GCC, FRL can plan a compatibility study built around your own food and finished pack, not a flat-sheet rating.
Start with FRL’s packaging testing services, pair them with a shelf-life study of the finished product, or contact the team to scope the work.
Not as a general rule. Laboratory results for PFAS-free coatings are strong, but they depend on the coating, coat weight, paper, creasing and temperature, and no reviewed study tested a real hot dish in a PFAS-free pack. Validate each pack for its hot, oily use.